Skip to content
Children's Books - 4-8 Years Children's Books - Sports New Titles

$19.99 Regular price
Unit price
per 

The Right Thing to Do: The Joe Mauer Story

ISBN: 9781634896825
Binding: Hardcover
Author: Joe Schmit with Foreword by Joe Mauer
Illustrator: Kevin Cannon
Pages: 40
Trim: 9 x 9 inches
Published: 01/14/2024

This baseball book for kids reveals an important lesson about making good choices. Alongside Minnesota Twins hall-of-famer Joe Mauer, young readers will discover the kindness that powers any path to stardom.

Joe is a sports nut! He loves all sports, but baseball most of all.

When Joe accidentally hits a baseball through his neighbor's window, he learns a valuable lesson: While sports are important, choosing kindness is always the right thing to do.

In this Minnesota Twins book for kids, follow a young Joe Mauer as he grows from a child athlete to a high-school superstar and eventually becomes one of the best-ever Major League Baseball players.

Along the way, discover . . .

     ● Valuable lessons about making good choices, choosing kindness, and              telling the truth,
     ● Heartwarming examples of healthy friendships,
     ● Uplifting messages about following your dreams, and
     ● The real-life journey of Joe Mauer to MLB fame.

Perfect for fans of Stephen Curry's I Have a Superpower, Joe Schmit and Joe Mauer's charitable children's debut is the ideal MLB book to entertain baseball-obsessed youngsters in the offseason.

All proceeds benefit Thumbs Up and Highland Friendship Club, Minnesota nonprofit organizations on a mission to provide mental health support, community connection, and friendship.

 

Joe Schmit is a sports broadcaster, keynote speaker, and author. He has won nineteen Emmy awards from the National Television Academy and is a member of the Minnesota Speakers Hall of Fame.

Dedicated to inspiring others toward meaningful work, Schmit has published two books on purpose and significance: Silent Impact and The Impact Blueprint. In collaboration with former Minnesota Twin Joe Mauer, Schmit made his children's book debut with The Right Thing to Do. As part of his ongoing commitment to community involvement and charitable contributions, all proceeds from the book benefitted Thumbs Up and Highland Friendship Club.

Joe Mauer is a Minnesota sports icon. Born and raised in St. Paul, Mauer was the number-one pick in the amateur baseball draft chosen by the hometown Minnesota Twins in 2001. After a stellar fifteen-year career, the Twins retired his number and inducted him into the Minnesota Twins Hall of Fame. He is a six-time All-Star, three-time batting champion, three-time winner of the Golden Glove Award, and the 2019 American League MVP.

In his collaborative, debut children's book, Joe Mauer partnered with Thumbs Up and Highland Friendship Club, donating all of the story's profits to support the nonprofit organizations and their missions. He continues to be a community leader and embodies the message in The Right Thing to Do.


Kevin Cannon is a Minnesota cartoonist and illustrator who is best known for his detailed cartoon maps in the Star Tribune as well as his humorous all-ages graphic novel, The Cartoon Introduction to Philosophy.

The last decade has found him splitting his time between drawing children’s books and creating illustrations for clients like Apple, Harvard, and the US Naval Academy, and publications like The Village Voice, Minnesota Monthly, and Mpls St. Paul Magazine. Cannon lives in Mounds View with his wife, Maggie, their son, Ulysses, and cat, Cottleston Pie.

Availability

x